Wake Forest honors three Babcock Graduate School of Management professors with teaching, research awards

2.26.2009 Article, Faculty News, General

Three professors at Wake Forest University’s Babcock Graduate School of Management were honored for their teaching and research excellence.

Charles Iacovou, Senior Associate Dean of the Babcock School & Associate Professor of Management, received the Kienzle Teaching Award. Michelle Roehm, Board of Visitors Associate Professor of Marketing and Jack Meredith, Professor of Management & Broyhill Distinguished Scholar & Chair in Operations, both received the Cowan Faculty Research Prize. The awards were announced Thursday during the University’s Founders’ Day Convocation.

The Kienzle Teaching Award is presented annually to a Babcock School faculty member who represents the highest standards of teaching excellence. Babcock alumni select the winner in a survey taken two years after their graduation. Babcock alumnus Charles Kienzle (’80) provided a gift that established the award, which was first presented in 2000.

The Cowan Faculty Research Prize is presented to a Babcock School faculty member who represents the highest standards of academic research. Thomas V.E. Cowan, a member of the Babcock School’s Board of Visitors and a 1972 graduate of Wake Forest, established the prize in 2001.

Iacovou joined the faculty at Babcock in August 2001, Roehm started at the University in August 1997 and Meredith began in August 1995.

We congratulate all three of our professors for their awards and thank them for their dedication and service to students and peers at Wake Forest University.