Charlotte Evening MBA Program Class of 2010 Celebrates Graduation

9.30.2010 General, News Release, School News

Charlotte, NC – Wake Forest University Schools of Business Charlotte Evening MBA program’s Class of 2010 is celebrating new beginnings and the end of their journey of balancing careers and families while advancing their education.

Forty-seven MBA graduates attended a reception and dinner at the Charlotte Marriott SouthPark on Sept. 24, followed by an awards ceremony.

“As individuals and classmates they exhibited an extraordinary level of commitment,” said Leslye Gervasi, Director of Wake Forest’s Charlotte MBA Programs. “Their commitment to the program–which required a great deal from them– to their classmates, their companies, communities and most importantly, to their families, did not waiver.”

Five graduating seniors recognized for their outstanding academic achievements include: Matthew Clewis, Cody McClaflin, Jacob Norton, Nicole Saniti and Sarah Trotta.

Jonathan McEvoy, a student in the program who passed away in December, received a posthumous degree. His classmates also honored him with the Outstanding Leadership Award.

Two faculty members received the Outstanding Faculty Recognition Award, given by each MBA class for outstanding contributions to the educational and personal development of students. Chet Miller, now at the University of Houston, returned to Wake Forest University to accept the 1st year teaching award for organizational behavior. Dan Fogel, Ph.D., professor of practice, received the second-year award. He was also honored by the Winston-Salem evening program

Scott Shafer, Senior Associate Dean of Graduate Programs, Bill Davis, Associate Dean of Working Professional Programs, and Pasquale Quintero, Jr., Assistant Director of Student Services, handed out diplomas to the following students:

Christopher L. Amick, Jamie L. Bond, Matthew Lee Cameron, Michael Gary Cato, Matthew Edward Clewis, Jamie Michael Coffey, Dustin J. Crosby, Jennifer Anne Coates, Jonathan Dausman, Ryan Adam Fischer, David S. Fitzgerald, Kurt Loren Gessaman, Benjamin Clark Gilman, Ericks Armands Graudins, Richard James Hagood, Robert Royal Hintze, Jr., Brian David Holden, Lezlie Elizabeth Jones, Gerald Tyler Judd, Jeffrey Brian King, Patrick Neal Kirwin, Bryan Paul Kowalinski, Kevin Bradley Lang, Katherine Shen-Huey Lee, Cody J. McClaflin, Timothy James McCollum, Jonathan McEvoy*, Daniel George McKenzie IV, Jennifer Gail McKinzie, Michael Patrick Nestor, Jacob Scott Norton, Jon Eric Parenteau, Brett Willis Peiffer, Thomas Joseph Pellerite, Christopher Phillip Rash, Vincent Matthew Roche, Michael David Ross, Nicole Lynn Saniti, Frank Ferreira Silva, Michael Peter Smith, Jr., Evangelyne Nikels Stevens, Joseph Franklin Taylor, Randall Corbin Tester, Brandon H. Treanor, Sarah Linn Williamson Trotta, Mark Timothy Wells, Jared Dover Wilson, Kyle Hardin Woodruff. *posthumously

The graduates represent a variety of companies including: AREVA; Bank of America; BB&T; Celgard, LLC; Danaher; Duke Energy; First Citizens Bank; Ingersoll-Rand; My Townhome/Maison Properties; The North Highland Company; Terex Corporation; US FoodService; United Technologies/Carrier, Inc; UNC Charlotte Wachovia; and Wells Fargo.

The Wake Forest evening MBA program is designed for working professionals, managers, small business owners and entrepreneurs with strong job performance who want to advance into mid- and upper-level management. At least three years of full-time, postgraduate work experience is required as the program builds upon that professional career experience to sharpen students’ general management skills.