Mandel Wins National Honor for Entrepreneurship Work

2.8.2008 Article, Entrepreneurship, Faculty News

Stan Mandel, director of the Angell Center for Entrepreneurship at Babcock, has received another national award for leadership excellence in entrepreneurship.

Mandel, executive professor of entrepreneurship, was one of three individuals named Justin G. Longenecker Fellows for 2008 by the U.S. Association for Small Business and Entrepreneurship. He received the honor during the USASBE Conference held Jan. 10-13 in San Antonio, Texas.

Also honored from Wake Forest was Pat H. Dickson, associate professor at the Calloway School of Business and Accountancy. George Vozikis of California State University, Fresno, was the third recipient.

The award, presented annually, honors individuals for extraordinary contributions and exemplary leadership in scholarship, teaching and research in entrepreneurship that reflects the highest ideals, standards and commitment in support of small, entrepreneurial and family businesses.

It is the latest honor for Mandel. He was ranked as the No. 3 entrepreneurship program director in the nation by his peers in Entrepreneur magazine in 2004 and 2005. He received the Irwin McGraw-Hill Award for Innovation in Entrepreneurial Pedagogy from the Academy of Management in 2001.

Under Mandel’s direction, the entrepreneurship program at Wake Forest’s Babcock School was named a model program by the USASBE for 2003, and has been ranked among the nation’s best in surveys by Entrepreneur and Fortune Small Business.

Mandel, a CPA, holds a BS in mechanical engineering from Tulane University, an MBA from Northwestern University and a PhD from Texas Tech University. He has participated in the start-up of more than 15 organizations within the medical device, biotechnology, education, retail, financial services, health care, consulting and nonprofit sectors. He also advises and serves on the boards of student- and alumni-led start-up companies.

Founded in 1957, the USASBE is a comprehensive organization of outstanding researchers, scholars, teachers, administrators and public policy makers interested in entrepreneurship and small business. It works to advance knowledge and foster business development through entrepreneurship education and research.